Login


    ARM Unveils 2GHz Dual Core Processor For Smartphones and MID

Miscellaneous stuff like wallpapers, themes, clips, fonts, icons, etc...

Postby Apocalypso » 16 Sep 2009, 14:38


ARM Unveils 2GHz Capable Cortex-A9 Dual Core Processor For Smartphones and MIDs

Image

ARM announced today the development of two Cortex-A9 MPCore hard macro implementations for the TSMC 40nm-G process, enabling silicon manufacturers to have a rapid and low-risk route to silicon for high-performance, low-power Cortex-A9 processor-based devices.

The speed-optimized hard macro implementation will enable devices to operate at frequencies greater than 2GHz.

The dual core hard macro implementations are the result of ARM’s significant investment in advanced physical IP development in unison with processor and fabric IP technology, and leading-edge implementation flows from the EDA industry. Advanced physical IP techniques have enabled critical circ... .. .

Read more:
Image ARM Unveils 2GHz Dual Core Processor - full story

Sincerely yours,
Teo


:arrow: Read rules
:arrow: Try search feature
:arrow: Take a look at unanswered posts
=========================
Don't take life toooo seriously, you're not going to survive it anyway ;)
Site Admin
Site Admin

Posts: 41729

Joined: 20 Jan 2005, 09:03

Location: In front of my monitor



Postby arun8gb » 16 Sep 2009, 14:39


wow... :shock: 8)
Symbian Freak
Symbian Freak

Posts: 5789

Joined: 22 Jul 2008, 15:34

Location: India

Phone model: Samsung Focus, Nokia E6, E7

Firmware: Somewhat okie.



Postby apache » 16 Sep 2009, 14:43


Apocalypso, man thats Awesome :D :shock:
Symbian Freak
Symbian Freak

Posts: 4534

Joined: 02 Oct 2008, 14:11

Location: Z Drive in Tamilnadu,India!

Phone model: Nokia 5800 XM

Firmware: ~~~V40 Best Firmware Ever Released~~~



Postby rodak69 » 16 Sep 2009, 15:26


My laptop is only 1,86GHz (Dual Core). This went too far, this is not fair! :wink:
Veteran
Veteran

Posts: 173

Joined: 19 Feb 2008, 22:19

Location: Legnica, Poland

Phone model: too many



Postby Nokia 5700 » 16 Sep 2009, 15:27


Woah!
Apple better not get this.. :twisted:
I hope Nokia will use it in a newer Maemo device.. :roll:
No ideas for signature again :)
Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 2963

Joined: 09 Sep 2008, 12:08

Location: Norway

Phone model: Nokia N900 - Samsung Galaxy S III

Firmware: CSSU - Cyanogenmod 10.2

Postby AntoIRL » 16 Sep 2009, 16:15


when will we see this implemented in smartphone's?
I think they released their A8 1GHz about 4 years ago and i've only seen it used in the past year.
Junior
Junior

Posts: 26

Joined: 17 Jul 2009, 06:19

Location: Dublin,Ireland

Phone model: N95 8GB

Firmware: V30 hacked

Postby Kalel17 » 16 Sep 2009, 16:22


Apple unlikely wont lol. I dont think maemo supports dual core, only symbian and os x i think.. I dont know if any1 can clarify. Mayb, and thats a big mayb, we will be seeing this monster in s4 devices.
Timeless
Junior
Junior

Posts: 76

Joined: 11 Jun 2009, 20:31

Location: Jamaica

Phone model: 6620- n80- n73- e71

Firmware: e71 v400 lta hacked



Postby doks » 16 Sep 2009, 16:28


Now I would be able to run photoshop on the phone. :shock: :roll:

Maemo is based on Linux and I dont see anything stopping it from running dual core.
Junior
Junior

Posts: 88

Joined: 15 Aug 2005, 13:17

Location: Nigeria

Postby uk786 » 16 Sep 2009, 17:06


Symbian definitely won''t be using this beast.. Android is getting 1ghz btw
★overclocĸed нтc нero @ 710мнz! ★eclaιr 2.1 → vιllaιnroм 12
-
Image
Symbian Freak
Symbian Freak

Posts: 2195

Joined: 24 Nov 2008, 18:01

Location: UK

Phone model: нтc нero



Postby AnasNazeer » 16 Sep 2009, 17:16


1 was too much and now this comes in :shock:
Symbian Freak
Symbian Freak

Posts: 2082

Joined: 30 Nov 2008, 16:15

Location: Karachi - Pakistan

Return to SF Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

User Menu

Online Friends

Birthdays