Login


    *HACK* Navigate for free with Nokia Maps

All about Symbian applications, reviews, news, questions, etc.

Postby 666 » 24 May 2008, 11:53


nickachap wrote:hi there, cant seem to find any .cdt files in any of the 0,1 folders, any ideas? :?


Even if you download half the planet, most of the folders are empty.

If all your folders are empty, you may be looking in the wrong folder:

http://nokiamaps.moo.no wrote:Map files have the extension .cdt. Example:

[memory card]\cities\diskcache\6\d\filename.cdt

? On some Nokia phones (like the N95) maps are stored in:

\Private\20001f63\diskcache\6\d\filename.cdt

? If your phone has both folders, get a small map (for a single country) and try both folders to see which one works. Even Nokia's own map loader doesn't always get it right. Details on the Nokia discussion board.


666
Veteran
Veteran

Posts: 428

Joined: 19 May 2008, 11:33



Postby HammY » 24 May 2008, 15:00


666 wrote:Even if you download half the planet, most of the folders are empty.

If all your folders are empty, you may be looking in the wrong folder:


True. I downloaded Nokia's map for Cyprus and only got a blank outline. - no detail whatsoever. How anyone can call that a map is beyond me.
ImageHammY Image
_________________
Symbian Freak
Symbian Freak

Posts: 2862

Joined: 16 Feb 2008, 22:15

Location: Edinburgh, Caledonia, Pictland, Scotia, Alba. Ecosse

Phone model: N900 @ 1Ghz (dual boot Maemo / NITdroid)

Firmware: 10.2010.19-1.203.1

Postby Quist07 » 24 May 2008, 22:32


Please tell me if I'm reading this right.

The .zip folder has 16*16 directories 1-f\1-f. The folder "diskcache" on the phone is the directory we should unzip to, yes?

Or do you mean we should unzip the entire contents of the .zip to the diskcache\6\d directory?
Junior
Junior

Posts: 38

Joined: 01 Apr 2008, 16:43

Location: STOCKHOLM

Postby 666 » 24 May 2008, 22:47


You should unzip it to the diskcache folder. Or even better: unzip it to a folder on your computer, then drag'n'drop the 16 folders into the diskache folder on your memory card.
666
Veteran
Veteran

Posts: 428

Joined: 19 May 2008, 11:33



Postby Quist07 » 24 May 2008, 23:51


That's exactly what I did. Only difference that occurred to me now is that I ended up downloading maploader 1.3.8 and not 1.3.5. This may have been fixed there.

I'm trying to find 1.3.5 to retry this again.
Junior
Junior

Posts: 38

Joined: 01 Apr 2008, 16:43

Location: STOCKHOLM

Postby clau93 » 25 May 2008, 15:06


this trick is avaible for my phone who didn't have gps and internet ?
Junior
Junior

Posts: 49

Joined: 22 May 2008, 12:52

Location: Romania

Postby HammY » 25 May 2008, 16:57


clau93 wrote:this trick is avaible for my phone who didn't have gps and internet ?


GPS is free on your phone. AGPS (Assisted GPS) will use a small amount of data to get a quicker initial fix on your position, The amount of data for an assisted fix is small, but if you don't have Internet access or if you need to avoid data charges, then disable AGPS and you will just need to wait a bit longer for GPS to to get a fix on your current location. Once you have a 'fix' the GPS radio reception from multiple satellites orbiting the earth is free.

You can pre-load any Nokia maps you require onto your phone using Nokia Map Loader with a PC whch has Internet access.

With GPS and pre-loaded maps on your phone, Nokia Maps can run without any data/Internet requirement.
ImageHammY Image
_________________
Symbian Freak
Symbian Freak

Posts: 2862

Joined: 16 Feb 2008, 22:15

Location: Edinburgh, Caledonia, Pictland, Scotia, Alba. Ecosse

Phone model: N900 @ 1Ghz (dual boot Maemo / NITdroid)

Firmware: 10.2010.19-1.203.1

Postby Quist07 » 25 May 2008, 19:47


I confirmed that the download version on Nokia's site is 1.3.8 and not 1.3.5 and retried this with the same negative result.

Anybody out there have an old copy of Maploader 1.3.5 they could put up for a download?
Junior
Junior

Posts: 38

Joined: 01 Apr 2008, 16:43

Location: STOCKHOLM

Postby moonpie » 27 May 2008, 12:13


:D

This actually seems to have worked on mine. I'll confirm tonight when I get home - bit hard to navigate across office!

Oops, spoke too soon, purchase info just popped up when GPS locked. Looking at this more closely I can't see how this could possibly work, there's a step missing from the OP's instructions, something they're possibly unaware of - the zip file does not include anything other than the map data, and that's all you're replacing the Nokia maps with.
Rookie
Rookie

Posts: 5

Joined: 16 Apr 2008, 11:25

Location: Northern Ireland

Postby HammY » 27 May 2008, 18:39


I just paid 6 quid (UKP) for a 30 x day trial of voice navigation on Nokia Maps 2 after setting my phone date to my birthday in 3 years time. Not sure, but I'll set the phone date to this date each time I want to use Maps 2. and maybe it will just seem like a very long day to the application <?>

Currently working fine - not sure if it will in 30 days tho'.
ImageHammY Image
_________________
Symbian Freak
Symbian Freak

Posts: 2862

Joined: 16 Feb 2008, 22:15

Location: Edinburgh, Caledonia, Pictland, Scotia, Alba. Ecosse

Phone model: N900 @ 1Ghz (dual boot Maemo / NITdroid)

Firmware: 10.2010.19-1.203.1

Return to SF Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

User Menu

Online Friends

Birthdays